top of page

The Chairman's Trophy

A4x | Aspirational Quadruple Sculls

The Chairman’s Trophy was given to the regatta by Diane Graham for the first Senior Quadruple Sculls event.

The trophy was designed by former HWR treasurer Elizabeth Finch and made by Frances Lester (daughter-in-law of the famous pioneering oarswoman Toby Lester). The trophy depicts the “puddles” of water carved out by the eight sculling blades.

Diane started rowing at Nottingham University before moving to the London area where she is a member of Walbrook RC, winning medals at the Scullers Head, Pairs Head and National Championships. She still rows and competes regularly. Diane was chairman of HWR for 15 years having also taken on the role of secretary prior to that. After standing down as chairman, Diane was awarded the British Rowing Medal of Honour.

bottom of page